Editing is Hard

Posted on Updated on

It’s kind of like bashing your head against a brick wall.

Until you know what you’re doing.

Well, that’s what I assume anyway, as I still haven’t quite found a way that works for me. My hard times may have something to do with the fact that I was a LOT younger while writing most of it, and I didn’t know how to stick to one view point. Nor did I know what a scene was. Or a chapter. Apparently.

Adding to the frustrating factor is that so much of the behind the scenes has changed, therein changing what actually happens. Some characters don’t exist anymore, others play a MUCH larger role than they had entered with and it’s just a big mess at the moment.

Also factoring into this, is the fact that my writer-brain is rebelling against all attempts at fiction on the computer. I can’t write anything new, unless I do it by hand. And also editing kind of stops at opening a new scene and staring at the blinking cursor.

So with my new (free) printer at hand, full of ink and an empty three-ring binder, I hope to beat this editing block so I can get The Cursed to beta’s and get it to my Editor by October. Fingers crossed.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “Editing is Hard

    adrianpaulfayter said:
    July 20, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Yes, I sympathise. I did a whole lot of copy editing (and discovered my protagonist drove two different vehicles, for example) and I’ve just been through four proof reads of my novel, and realised that, for all my expertise in literacy, I had two or three fundamental punctuation errors going on throughout… Check out ‘the joy of proofreading’ and other entries on my blog…

    Best of luck
    Adrian

Leave a Reply

