Interview Pt 2

Posted on Updated on

“I’ve learned a lot of lessons. But I think the biggest would be to have patience with your dream.” ~ S. M. Boyce
Interview3

K. R. Green and I interviewed the wonderful S. M Boyce in April, and we’re now posting them on our websites!

Our thirty minutes of chat about her books, published and in-progress, led to 4,000 words of transcript, so we’ve split it into four parts – two here, and two on K. R Green’s blog.

If you missed Part I, click here.

This week, Part II is here!

The Interview ~ Part II

~

The Writing Process (continued from Part I)

C. R. – “Do you have any other books or series after Grimoire; completely and totally different?”

S. M. – “Oh yeah. I actually have the next three series planned out.”

C. R. – “Oh, wow!”

S. M. – “I’m an obsessive planner, I told you! And they’re different. So I think the Grimoire saga is probably going to be the last high fantasy I write for a little while. I’m going to write the Ourean chronicles which is actually just the back story that I’ve built for some of the characters I like the best. You’ll see Stone’s story, or at least the origin story for him. He has a thousand years under his belt so that would be an outrageous series of his own. You’ll get Deirdre’s story and you’ll get the first vagabond Cedric, you’ll get his story. And I have a couple others I’m toying around with; I’m not sure if I’m going to do that or not. But that will be the Ourean chronicles.”

C. R. – “Awesome!”

S. M. – “You’re also going to have an urban fairytale fantasy called ‘Wisp Vine’ and that one is really going to play on the fairytale but bring it into the modern era. And I know that a lot of people have been doing fairytales but I think this will be different enough to interest people.

And also I’ve been toying with paranormal horror, because I love ghosts. I actually have a series planned that keeps me up at night sometimes, so I’m hoping it’ll scare the living daylights out of people. We’ll see! That’s one’s called ‘To Each His Ghost’. And I have a short story written that’s the origin of that series so I’ll probably publish that in the next couple of months.”

C. R. – “Cool!”

~

K. R. – “That sounds good. With so many things planned, how do you keep track of it all? In terms of your progress, do you have word counts, or number of scenes, or number of pages?”

S. M. – “That’s a really good question. It kind of differs depending which series I’m working on. Each his ghost is just a collection of ideas right now. I have the main character and the over-arcing conflict for the series, but none really of the primary conflict for each book within the series.

What I like to do is have a journal of idea and whenever I need to write through a problem in a book, I just basically rewrite until it makes sense in these journals.

So if you were to read the Grimoire saga journal from front to back you would be like who are these people? Because I use all the old names, I reference people who don’t exist any more. I found that as soon as I write it out it makes more sense so those journals are probably the best way for me to organise everything.”

~

C. R. – “Do you remember, when was that moment that you knew ‘I want to write, I want to be a writer’?”

S. M. – “My mom knew it before me. She called it when I was a sophomore in high school. I was just toying around with short stories back ten. But it wasn’t until I got to college, and I pretty much failed out of the theatre program, I was gunna be an actor!

But I didn’t do very well. So it was when I was kind of sitting back in the lounge at the university dorm one day and thought, ‘What do I want to do? What am I good at?’, and really writing was the only answer I had. So I started exploring that more and just really fell in love with it all over again.

My first book I wrote when I was five. It was terrible, it was really really bad. A lonely pickle and the last pickle in the jar in the refrigerator looking for friends. In hindsight, that’s insanely morbid, but I like to think I’ve improved a little bit since then.”

K. R. – “I don’t know. I think it could be quite an interesting story!”

S. M. – “Maybe I should re-visit it! New series!”

K. R. – “Make it novella length or something. The cheese could get involved!”

S. M. – “That would be the villain. Mouldy cheese. I don’t like blue cheese at all. I think it tastes like feet.”

K. R. – “I’m with you there.”

~

K. R. – “What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned through your writing, if any (so far)?”

S. M. – “I’ve learned a lot of lessons. But I think the biggest would be to have patience with your dream. I’m one of those people who tracks success by checking off lists and you can’t do that with your life dream. You really can’t. You have to be patient because things don’t always happen the way you plan and that’s something I’m facing right now actually… with this move and actually I wanted to have Heritage done in March, and here it is almost May and its half way done. But just learning to have patience and keep perspective and be flexible. Stick with it.”

~

C. R. – “You’ve sort of answered this. I was going to ask if you work better in silence, with ambient sound or music. And I guess you’ve already answered that, with liking silence…”

S. M. – “I actually listen to cinematic music when I write, because it makes me feel epic and epic is a good feeling when you’re writing. I just can’t have people distractions. If it’s you know, cinematic music with drums and harmonies that’s fine. Actually E S Posthumus… I really, really love their music but they’re not making any more music unfortunately but that’s who I listen to the most. Them and two steps form hell.”

C. R. – “Ahh yes.”

That’s all for today! Do you have any questions so far? Leave them in the comments!

Check back next week for a link to Part III, being hosted by the lovely K. R. Green!

~ ~ ~

Interested in our books?

* S. M. Boyce’s first book, Lichgates is available [for free on Kindle!] here.

* Information about K. R. Green’s work-in-progress, Planes Shifter, can be found here.

* Information about my work-in-progress, The Forsaken can be found here.

Leave a Reply

