Liebster Award

Posted on Updated on

67d85-liebsterawardA great big THANK YOU! To Miss K.R. Green to nominating me for the Liebster Award!

I absolutely love being tagged in this sort of thing, but hate it when it comes to the tagging because I feel I don’t know enough writers. But! This time I will ignore that and get on with it already, aye?

The Rules!

  1. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them:  K.R. Green’s blog is here and we have sort of bonded through our writing.
  2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator. 
  3. Nominate some other bloggers for this award [this originally said those who have less than 200 followers, but I won’t be checking, and I’m just going to mention a few writers you should check out]
  4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer: I don’t feel like coming up with new questions, (much like K.R. Green) so we’ll keep it to the same ten, yeah?
  5. Notify nominees. 

Q and A Time!

1. Why do you write?

Oh dear, you just had to go there, didn’ t you? Shall I give you the stock answer? That I write because I must? Or shall I go with the funny answer? I write because if I didn’t the voices in my head would drive me insane? Both are equally true, take your pick.

2. What do you hope to achieve with your writing? (E.g. raise awareness of something, tell a story, teach a lesson…)

I just want to create something enjoyable. For me, reading has always been an escape, and I would like to give someone else (preferably multiple someone’s) that chance to escape into another world as well.

3. If you could go back in time and give yourself some writing advice what would it be?

“For crying out loud just finish it, then maybe I wouldn’t have such a problem finishing projects!”

4. Do you listen to music as you write? If so, what sort of music?

Oh yes. Unless I’m watching television (shame on me, I know, I get so little writing done). I listen to all sorts. I’ve become partial to Lindsey Stirling lately, and Dragonforge is always good. Both are mostly instrumental. Also, movie score composers like Hans Zimmer and the like are good as well. But sometimes I’ll have a playlist for the book I’m writing at the moment, and a lot of those have some amount of Skillet or Rise Against in them. It’s a toss up, really.

5. Where do you get your ideas from?

Short answer? Everywhere and nowhere.

Long answer? It varies. Sometimes a character will come to me, unbidden. (There was a post on my blog a LONG time ago about this. A character came from a captcha on a website). Sometimes a song I’ve heard a million times will spark some idea. (I have a couple of these in the back of my mind). For this JulNoWriMo the idea came from the title. Though that in itself is strange because the title Taking Down the Stars is a tad misleading.

6. What is your writing process? Are you a pantser, a plotter or a mixture?

Hmm… In the past I would say a complete pantser, but I’ve found that plotting really does work for me. So it’s becoming a mixture of the two, though for JulNoWriMo it will be almost entirely pantsed merely because I did not have the time I would have liked to plot.

7. Where do you write best? (E.g. at your desk, in bed, in a cafe…)

I have no desk at the moment, and my laptop hardly ever enters the bedroom. For the most part I write sitting on my couch. However, as the television is directly in front of me, it can become a distraction. Before I moved, there was a nice little used bookstore/coffee shop that I liked going to, but we don’t have one near us here, sadly.

8. Is there anyone that keeps you writing despite struggles? If so, who?

Oh how I wish. I keep hoping I will find someone who gives more than a cursory “How’s the writing going?” or obligatory “How’s your book coming along?” and then never follows up. But my fiancee is kind of… meh about my writing and other friends don’t get me started talking about my writing because they know I’ll never stop.

I wish I had someone who kept me going, because most of the people I have right now just give me that “Oh you still haven’t finished” or “oh you’re rewriting it again” look whenever I mention my writing. (Going to stop myself here, this question could probably become a blog post on its own)

9. If you could meet any author who would it be?

Brandon Sanderson or R.A. Salvatore. Preferably both. Gah! That would be so amazing. Robert Jordan and J.R.R. Tolkien would be on this list if they weren’t deceased. OH! J.K. Rowling as well should be mentioned.

10. What is your favourite book of all time?

That’s an unfair question. I don’t have an “All time” favorite. I have “favorite book I’ve read recently”. Which would have to be Words of Radiance, by the aforementioned Brandon Sanderson.

I Nominate!

  • Molly Greene a self-published author and blogger.
  • Briana Lagos a fellow JulNo/WriMo’er and amateur novelist, like myself.
  • Well… If anyone else wants to join in on this, go right ahead and post and just link back to me, aye?
2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

    Molly Greene said:
    July 5, 2014 at 9:36 am

    Cheyenne, thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

