Feeling Down

Posted on

So JulNoWriMo is in full swing, and it’s Independence Day here in America.

And my word count has not gone up in the past three days. Why, you ask. Well, that feeling has come around again. I think all writers know the feeling I’m talking about.

The feeling that everything you write is crap. That you’ll never be a good writer, you’ll never sell anything and you’re just wasting your time. Well, I’m feeling like that right now. I can’t even bring myself to continue some fiction writing that I’m doing online with some other people. Because I feel that it will be utter tripe. (Honestly, you guys have no idea how hard it is just for me to type up this blog post. Watching my counter go up to only 2 or 3 for each post is kind of uninspiring.)

So. How to get over that “feeling down”?

Short answer, I don’t know. Normally my advice would be to “just write”. But saying that and doing it are two different things. I’m feeling very much “uninspired” (and before you get at me about how you don’t need to be inspired to write, I mean that I just can’t bring myself to put pen to paper. Or fingers to keys. Whatever.) and I don’t know how to get over that.

This is not really an advice post, but more an asking for advice. I don’t know if I’ll get any advice, but I made a promise to myself to start posting more regularly. (Let’s see if I can stick to that this time around, yeah?)

Anyway, if I come to any conclusions or solutions to this feeling, you guys will be the first to know, I promise.

3 thoughts on “Feeling Down

    Firoz Ahmed said:
    July 5, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Who says you are not a good writer, you are not just writing something or copying some another person’s words,
    You are explaining all your feelings, you are creating your own world with your own Words.
    Cheyenne get rid of these upset feelings and cheer up…
    All the best dear.
    And from now i will continuously check your blog promise 🙂

      CheyenneTrumbo responded:
      July 9, 2014 at 12:39 pm

      Aww… I feel all warm and fuzzy inside now!

      Thank you so much

    Firoz Ahmed said:
    July 10, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    it’s all my pleasure dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

